Trennlinie
Logo des Zoo-Verein Wuppertal e.V.

Wuppertal Zoo Society - Nature conservation

Research and conservation of Penguins

Accompanying the construction of the new King penguin enclosure the Zoo Society is supporting the Antarctic Research Trust, which carries out research and conservation projects for Penguins in the south-west Atlantic and along the South American coastline.

  • Gentoo Penguin
  • Young King Penguin with a transmitter
  • Rockhopper Penguin

The research mainly focusses on the diet and feeding grounds of Penguins, whose populations have drastically reduced in numbers over the last decades. With the help of remote sensory equipment (satellite transmitters) penguin movements can be measured, such as where and when the animals search for food and how deep they dive. This scientific research will help to better protect the severely endangered Penguins and their habitat from human activities (e.g. fishing, oil pollution). The knowledge gained by this research will be made available not only to scientific circles and to the media, but also to the responsible governmental authorities and environmental organisations.

 

Migration of young King Penguins (satellite picture)
  • Island group: Sea Lion Islands south of the Falkland Islands
  • View of Brandy Island, in the background Whiskey Island and Sea Lion Easterly

In 2004 the Antarctic Research Trust acquired four small isolated islands (Rum, Brandy, Whiskey, and Sea Lion Easterly) of the Sea Lion Islands group to the south of the Falklands. Previously uninhabited and unfarmed they provide a protective retreat for the original flora and fauna of the Falkland Islands. The second-largest Sea Elephant colony in the Falklands can be found on Sea Lion Easterly. Thanks to the support of the Zoo Society, now a co-founder of the nature reserve on the group of islands, 1000 m2 of Sea Lion Easterly is now under lasting protection.  

  • Sea Lion Easterly nature reserve co-founder certificate
  • Sponsorship certificate for "Carlo" the Humboldt Penguin

Additionally in 2009 the Zoo Society became sponsor of "Carlo" a Humboldt Penguin who was equipped with a satellite transmitter. His migration along the South American coastline can be followed on a daily basis. For further information on this project please click here: Humboldtpinguin "Carlo".

In April 2009 Dr. Klemens Pütz, Scientific Director of the Antarctic Research Trust,  held a lecture on Penguins and the work done by the Antarctic Research Trust.

 
For further information about the Antarctic Research Trust please click on www.antarctic-research.de.

 
You can find the Antarctic Research Trust newsletter as a pdf here:

Newsletter 4-2008

 

back to top

Trennlinie
Logo des Zoo-Verein Wuppertal e.V.

Zoo-Verein Wuppertal e.V. - Naturschutz

Erforschung und Schutz von Pinguinen

Begleitend zum Bau der neuen Königspinguinanlage unterstützt der Zoo-Verein den Antarctic Research Trust, der im Südwest-Atlantik und an den Küsten Südamerikas Forschungs- und Naturschutzprojekte für Pinguine durchführt.

  • Eselspinguin
  • Junger Königspinguin mit Satellitensender
  • Felsenpinguin

 

Schwerpunkt der Forschungen ist die Ernährungsökologie von Pinguinen, deren Populationen dort in den letzten Jahrzehnten zum Teil drastisch abgenommen haben. Mit Hilfe von Fernerkundungsgeräten (Satellitensendern) werden z. B. die Wanderungen von Pinguinen erforscht und es wird gemessen, wo und wann die Tiere auf Nahrungssuche gehen und wie tief sie tauchen. Diese wissenschaftliche Forschung soll helfen, die vor allem durch menschliche Aktivitäten (z. B. Fischerei, Umweltverschmutzung durch Öl) stark bedrohten Pinguine und ihre Lebensräume besser schützen zu können. Die durch die Forschung gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden nicht nur in der wissenschaftlichen Fachliteratur und diversen Medien publiziert, sondern auch verantwortlichen Regierungsstellen und Umweltschutzorganisationen zur Verfügung gestellt.

Wanderungen junger Königspinguine (Satellitenbild)
  • Inselgruppe Sea Lion Islands im Süden der Falklandinseln
  • Blick auf Brandy Island, im Hintergrund Whiskey Island und Sea Lion Easterly

2004 hat der Antarctic Research Trust im Süden der Falklandinseln die vier kleinen, unberührten Inseln Rum, Brandy, Whiskey und Sea Lion Easterly erworben. Sie wurden auch in der Vergangenheit nicht bewohnt oder bewirtschaftet und stellen daher ein Rückzugsgebiet für die ursprüngliche Flora und Fauna der Falklandinseln dar. Auf Sea Lion Easterly befindet sich sogar die zweitgrößte See-Elefantenkolonie der Falklandinseln. Dank der Unterstützung des Zoo-Vereins, der so zum Mitbegründer eines Naturschutzgebietes auf der Inselgruppe wurde, konnten 1000 m2 auf Sea Lion Easterly unter dauerhaften Schutz gestellt werden.

  • Urkunde über die Mitbegründung eines Naturschutzgebietes auf Sea Lion Easterly
  • Urkunde über die Patenschaft für den Humboldtpinguin "Carlo"

Daneben übernahm der Zoo-Verein 2009 die Patenschaft über den Humboldtpinguin "Carlo", der mit einem Satellitensender ausgerüstet wurde. Seine Wanderung entlang der südamerikanischen Küste kann so täglich verfolgt werden. Für weitere Informationen zu diesem Projekt klicken Sie bitte Sie auf Humboldtpinguin "Carlo".

Im April 2009 hielt Dr. Klemens Pütz, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Antarctic Research Trust, für die Mitglieder des Zoo-Vereins einen Vortrag über Pinguine und die Arbeit des Antarctic Research Trust.

 

Weitere Informationen über den Antarctic Resarch Trust erhalten Sie unter www.antarctic-research.de.

 

Hier können Sie sich außerdem den newsletter des Antarctic Research Trust als pdf-Datei herunterladen:

Newsletter 4-2008

zurück nach oben